Pope calls the world’s Christians to pray the Lord’s Prayer on Wednesday 25 March

CBCEW » Our Work » Department » Social Justice » Health and Social Care » Coronavirus » » Pope calls the world’s Christ...

At this time of uncertainty and anxiety with our churches closed for public worship, Pope Francis has called on the world’s Christians and people of goodwill to join together to pray the Lord’s Prayer on Wednesday, 25 March at 11am UK time (midday in Rome).

The ‘Our Father’ is the prayer Jesus taught his disciples and the first prayer many of us learned to pray.

We will carry the broadcast on our channels and ask that our visitors gather virtually in this way as a simple powerful act of solidarity.

Adoration and Urbi et Orbi blessing

Having prayed the Angelus on Sunday, Pope Francis also revealed that on Friday 27 March at 5pm UK time (6pm Rome), he will pray on the steps of St Peter’s basilica. Although the square will be empty, there will be a period of Adoration and readings from Scripture.

Plenary Indulgence

At the end of the service, the Holy Father will impart his Urbi et Orbi blessing and will offer a Plenary indulgence for the COVID-19 pandemic.

He asks that we join together to uphold the universality of prayer, compassion and tenderness.

Pope Francis encourages us to “remain united and make our closeness felt – especially with healthcare professionals and those who serve.”

The Lord’s Prayer

Our Father who art in heaven,
hallowed be thy name.
Thy kingdom come.
Thy will be done on earth,
as it is in heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread,
and forgive us our trespasses,
as we forgive those who trespass against us,
and lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from evil.

Link

We will carry the live broadcast of these events but please keep an eye on the:

Vatican News YouTube channel.