Bishop wants shrine to be beacon of hope and healing for women

Bishop Peter Brignall, Bishop of Wrexham, wants the newly-elevated St Winefride’s Shrine, now a national shrine, to be a beacon of hope and healing for women who have suffered from violence and abuse in parallel with the experiences of the saint herself. Read more.

Catholic News
Catholic News
Bishop of Wrexham celebrates Shrine’s elevation to National Status

Pray the rosary for persecuted Christians, says Archbishop

Red Wednesday is the day when the Catholic community comes together globally to ‘Break the Silence’ on Christian persecution. When darkness falls, iconic buildings and monuments are lit red to champion the cause. This year St George’s Cathedral was bathed in red light.

Archbishop John Wilson explains why it’s important we speak out about Christian persecution and why the rosary is the ideal prayer to pray when calling to mind the suffering of Christians around the world. Read more.

Bishops’ Autumn 2023 Plenary Resolutions

The Catholic Bishops of England and Wales gathered in Leeds for their Autumn Plenary meeting at Hinsley Hall from 13-16 November 2023. There are five resolutions from the plenary; Synod on Synodality, Environmental Concerns, Shrine of St Winefride, National Eucharistic Congress and Conflict in Gaza.

Bishops’ statement on Indi Gregory

Bishop John Sherrington, Lead Bishop for Life Issues, and Bishop Patrick McKinney, Bishop of Nottingham express deep sadness after the death of Indi Gregory:

“With deep sadness we express our condolences to Dean and Claire, parents of Indi Gregory, who died earlier today. We assure them of our prayers and those of all the Catholic Community, including Pope Francis, at this sad time.” Read more.

Praying for the dead at the London Oratory

November is a very important month in the Catholic calendar. It’s the month when we pause on many occasions to remember our friends and loved ones who have died. This podcast is a walk-and-talk tour of the London Oratory’s memorials, statues, confessionals, altars, beautiful works of art, and prayerful side chapels – all gateways to a life beyond this world. Prayerful places where we can focus our minds on the Holy Souls and pray for those who have gone before us. Read more.

Statement on the ongoing war and violence in the Holy Land

Bishop Declan Lang, Chair of the Bishops’ Conference’s International Affairs department, and Bishop Nicholas Hudson, Chair of the Holy Land Co-ordination have released a statement on the ongoing Israel/Hamas war. Read more.

National Tribunal Service (NTS)

The National Tribunal Service of England and Wales will enhance impartiality, transparency and consistency in the application of canon law across its jurisdiction in penal cases. Read more.

Laudate Deum

Pope Francis has released his Exhortation Laudate Deum, ‘Praise God’, to “clarify and complete” what he started in 2015 with Laudato si’.

Lead Bishop for Environmental Issues for the Bishops’ Conference, Bishop John Arnold, praises the Pope’s intervention as ‘timely’ and ‘vital’:

“I thoroughly welcome the timely and prophetic words of Pope Francis in Laudate Deum who once again implores the international community to alter the path of destruction down which we are heading.

Read more.

New Lectionary to be launched in England and Wales for Advent 2024

The Dicastery for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments has confirmed the approval by the Bishops’ Conference of England and Wales for the new Lectionary. 

The Lectionary, which includes the scripture readings for Mass and the sacraments, will come into use in Catholic parishes in England and Wales from Advent 2024.  

Cardinal Arthur Roche, Prefect of the Dicastery, wrote to Cardinal Vincent Nichols, President of the Bishops’ Conference, confirming the new translation of the Lectionary, which has been done in collaboration with the Bishops’ Conference of Scotland.  Read more.

Love the Stranger

Love the Stranger is a publication from the Department for International Affairs that presents a Catholic response to migrants and refugees. It places the human being at the heart of our pastoral outreach, looking beyond statistics and policies to the person – each with a name, a face and a story. Read more.

Live Catholic Mass Online

Use our online directory of churches in England and Wales streaming Catholic Mass live online.

Latest News

Visit our ‘News‘ section for our full archive.

Press releases, news, statements and more. Learn more

Profiles of our diocesan bishops and retired bishops. Learn more

This section keeps at the forefront those iconic, important events that remain a little longer in our memories. Learn more

In this section you can find out more about the Pope, the Vatican and the Catholic Bishops' Conference of England and Wales. Learn more

The Catholic Church in England and Wales is made up of 22 dioceses. Learn more


Together, Ecumenical Prayer Vigil with Pope Francis ahead of the General Assembly of the Synod