Installation of Malcolm McMahon OP as Ninth Archbishop of Liverpool

CBCEW » Bishops » Installation » » Installation of Malcolm McMahon OP ...

Metropolitan Cathedral of Christ the King, Liverpool
Feast of St Joseph the Worker
Thursday 1 May 2014 at 12.00 noon

The Solemn Mass of Installation of the Most Reverend Malcolm McMahon OP as ninth Archbishop of Liverpool is to take place at 12pm noon on Thursday 1 May 2014 in the Metropolitan Cathedral of Christ the King, Liverpool. The day chosen is the Feast of St Joseph the Worker, a Patron of the Archdiocese of Liverpool.
Bishop Thomas Williams, Apostolic Administrator of the Archdiocese, will welcome Archbishop McMahon to the Cathedral before the Apostolic Mandate of Appointment is read by the Chancellor of the Archdiocese, Rev Aidan Prescott. Archbishop McMahon is then led to the Cathedra (Bishop’s Chair) by Bishop Williams, where he will be presented with the Book of the Gospels by Bishop Vincent Malone, former Auxiliary Bishop of Liverpool, and with the Crozier, the sign of a Bishop’s office and ministry, by Archbishop Emeritus Patrick Kelly.
The Apostolic Nuncio Archbishop Antonio Mennini will be present as will Bishops from throughout the country including Cardinal Vincent Nichols, Archbishop of Westminster; Cardinal Cormac Murphy-O’Connor, Archbishop Emeritus of Westminster and Cardinal Roger Mahony, Archbishop Emeritus of Los Angeles and a friend of Archbishop McMahon.

Priests and Deacons from both Nottingham and Liverpool will be present, as will civic dignitaries and representatives from each parish in the Archdiocese of Liverpool.
The UK Ambassador to the Holy See, Mr Nigel Baker, will also be in attendance.


Cathedral bells will be rung


Organ will be played


Lord Mayor of Liverpool and the High Sheriff will be led to their places


Clergy, Choir and Sanctuary processions will take place


Procession of the Metropolitan Cathedral Chapter of Canons, Consultors, Chancellor and Apostolic Administrator

12 Noon

Archbishop Elect, Malcolm McMahon OP will arrive at the Main Entrance of the Cathedral as a fanfare is sounded. He will be greeted by the Apostolic Administrator, Bishop Thomas Williams

Following the Rite of Installation Archbishop McMahon will be greeted by:
The former Chair of the Council of Priests Rev Conor Stainton-Polland and Rev Leo McNicholas one of the Permanent Deacons of the Archdiocese on behalf of the Clergy.
Two Lay Trustees of the Archdiocese, Carol Chapman and John Cowdall, on behalf of the people of the Archdiocese.
Right Reverend Richard Blackburn, the Bishop of Warrington who is the Liverpool Anglican Diocesan Administrator, and Reverend Philip Jump, the Free Church Moderator on behalf of the Church Leaders and Churches Together on Merseyside and Regions.
The Lord Mayor, Mayor of Wigan and the President of Tynwald from the Isle of Man on behalf of the Civic Authorities and regions of the Archdiocese.
The First Reading of the Mass will be taken from the Book of Genesis (1:26-2:3) and will be read by a member of the Archbishop’s family.
The Second Reading will be from the Letter of St Paul to the Colossians (3:14-15,17,23-24) and will be read by Mr Peter Woods who will be representing the Lord Lieutenant and who is Chair of the Friends of the Metropolitan Cathedral.
The Gospel will be from Matthew (13:54-58) and will be sung by Deacon John Poland who will be ordained to the priesthood for the Archdiocese of Liverpool on Sunday 20 July 2014.
Following the Gospel, Archbishop Malcolm McMahon will preach the homily.
The Prayer of the Faithful will be led by Mrs Lutje Rathbone from the Metropolitan Cathedral Choir Community.
The Offertory gifts of bread and wine will be carried forward by members of the Archbishop’s family.


Taking part in the music of the Mass will be the Cathedral Choir under Director of Music Christopher McElroy. The music of the Mass will be as follows:
Organ Music before the Service:
Grand Choeur by Théodore Dubois (1837-1924)

Prelude, Fugue and Ciacona by Dietrich Buxtehude (1637-1707)

Allegro Moderato by Edward Elgar (1857-1934)

Toccata in F by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Introit Ecce oculi Domini: Gregorian Chant

Entrance Hymn The King of Love: words by H W Baker (1821-1877); music by J B Dykes (1823-1876)

Antiphon The Lord I will praise: music by Philip Duffy (b1943)

Responsory Summæ Trinitáti: music by James MacMillan (b1959)

Motet Like as the Hart: music by Herbert Howells (1892-1983)

Gloria Liverpool Mass: music by Colin Mawby (b1936)

Psalm 89: music by Christopher McElroy (b1978)

Gospel Acclamation Easter Alleluia: Gregorian Chant; verse by Christopher McElroy (b1978)

Credo III: Gregorian Chant

Offertory Hymn The Kingdom of God is justice and joy: words by Christopher Idle

Offertory Motet Jubilate Deo ‘Collegium Regale’: music by Herbert Howells

Sanctus, Memorial Acclamation and Great Amen St Chads Acclamations: Peter Jones

Agnus Dei Mass in G: music by Franz Schubert (1797-1828)

Communion Antiphon Dominus firmamentum: Gregorian Chant

Communion Motet Ave verum: music by Colin Mawby (b1936)

Communion Hymn Godhead here in hiding: translated by G M Hopkins

Anthem Worthy is the Lamb: music by George Frederick Handel (1685-1759)

Christus vincit (Laudes Regiae): Gregorian Chant

Recessional Hymn Hail, Redeemer, King divine! words by Patrick Brennan (1877-1951), music by Charles Rigby (1901-1962)

Organ Voluntaries: Grand Choeur by Eugene Gigout (1844-1925) and Toccata (Symphony V) Charles Marie Widor (1844-1937)

Bishops Attending

Among the Bishops attending the Mass of Installation will be:
Cardinal Vincent Nichols
Archbishop of Westminster

Cardinal Cormac Murphy-O’Connor
Archbishop Emeritus of Westminster

Cardinal Roger Mahony
Archbishop Emeritus of Los Angeles
Archbishop Antonio Mennini
Apostolic Nuncio to Great Britain
Archbishop Patrick Kelly
Archbishop Emeritus of Liverpool

Bishop Thomas Williams
Apostolic Administrator of the Archdiocese of Liverpool

Bishop Vincent Malone
Former Auxiliary Bishop of Liverpool
Archbishop Paul Gallagher
Apostolic Nuncio to Australia

Archbishop Bernard Longley
Archbishop of Birmingham

Archbishop George Stack
Archbishop of Cardiff
Bishop Terence Brain
Bishop of Salford

Bishop Peter Brignall
Bishop of Wrexham

Bishop Thomas Burns
Bishop of Menevia

Bishop Michael Campbell
Bishop of Lancaster

Bishop Kieran Conry
Bishop of Arundel and Brighton

Bishop Seamus Cunningham
Bishop of Hexham and Newcastle

Bishop Mark Davies
Bishop of Shrewsbury

Bishop Terence Drainey
Bishop of Middlesbrough

Bishop Alan Hopes
Bishop of East Anglia

Bishop Mark O’Toole
Bishop of Plymouth

Bishop John Rawsthorne
Bishop of Hallam

Right Reverend Monsignor Keith Newton
Ordinary of the Ordinariate of Our Lady of Walsingham

Bishop John Arnold
Auxiliary Bishop of Westminster

Bishop John Sherrington
Auxiliary Bishop of Westminster

Bishop Crispian Hollis
Bishop Emeritus of Portsmouth

Bishop Edwn Regan
Bishop Emeritus of Wrexham

Bishop Philip Pargeter
Former Auxiliary Bishop of Birmingham

Bishop Howard Tripp
Former Auxiliary Bishop of Southwark
Right Reverend Robert Byrne
Auxiliary Bishop Elect of Birmingham
Bishop Noel Treanor
Bishop of Down and Connor

Bishop Anthony Farquhar
Auxiliary Bishop of Down and Connor

Ecumenical Guests

Among the Ecumenical Guests will be:
Right Reverend Richard Blackburn
Bishop of Warrington

Right Reverend John Goddard
Bishop of Burnley

Reverend James Booth
Chair of the Liverpool Methodist District

Reverend Philip Jump
Baptist Regional Minister

Reverend Howard Sharp
Moderator of the URC Mersey Synod

Reverend Ian Smith
Ecumenical Officer

Reverend Dean Pete Wilcox
Liverpool Cathedral

The Mass of Installation is expected to conclude at approximately 2pm.

Official website for the Catholic Archdiocese of Liverpool