Catholic Church to host reception for Assembly Members of the National Assembly for Wales

CBCEW » Vocation » Formation » » Catholic Church to host reception f...

The Catholic Bishops’ Conference of England and Wales will host a Reception for Assembly Members at the Senedd on Tuesday, 7 May 12-2pm.

Located in Cardiff, the Senedd is the main public building of the National Assembly – the centre for democracy and devolution in Wales.

The reception is being sponsored by David Melding AM, the Deputy Presiding Officer of the National Assembly for Wales.

The purpose of the reception is:

  • to celebrate with Assembly Members the work of the Catholic Church in Wales, especially in the fields of Pastoral Care, Education and Social Justice.

  • to provide further opportunities for dialogue between officials of the Catholic Church and Assembly Members.

The Bishops of the three Catholic Dioceses in Wales will attend the reception:

The Most Revd George Stack
Archbishop of Cardiff

The Rt Revd Tom Burns
Bishop of Menevia

The Rt Revd Peter Brignall
Bishop of Wrexham

Archbishop Stack, in his words of welcome will speak of the value of public service and of the work undertaken by public servants. He will also speak of the Catholic Church seeking dialogue with the Welsh Assembly to foster the Common Good.

The bishops will be accompanied by staff members of the Bishops’ Conference of England and Wales and by the leaders of a number of its agencies.

Among the agencies present with be:

The Catholic Education Service

The Catholic Fund for Overseas Development (CAFOD)

The Caritas Social Action Network (a network of Catholic Charities working in the fields of homelessness, poverty elderly care and prisons)

The Apostleship of the Sea (serving seafarers in all the main ports in Great Britain)

The National Justice and Peace Network (focusing on issues such as the cancellation of third world debt, credit unions, housing and homelessness, refugees and asylum seekers, and environmental issues)

The Catholic Association for Racial Justice (working with black and minority ethnic Catholics, promoting racial justice and community cohesion to Catholics and the wider community).


The Oriel, The Senedd, on Tuesday 7 May 12-2pm.

The Catholic Church in Wales

There are three Catholic dioceses in Wales:

The Diocese of Wrexham consists of the Counties of Aberconwy & Colwyn, Anglesey, Denbighshire, Flintshire, Gwynedd, Wrexham and the District of Montgomery on the County of Powys. The estimated Catholic population is 37,050

The Diocese of Menevia consists of the City and County of Swansea, the Counties of Carmarthenshire, Ceredigion, Pembrokeshire, Neath PortTalbot and the County of Powys except for the District of Montgomery. The estimated Catholic population is 27,096

The Archdiocese of Cardiff consists of the Counties of Cardiff, Blaenau Gwent, Bridgend, Caerphilly, Merthyr Tydfil, Monmouthshire, Newport, Torfaen, Rhondda Cynon Taff, Vale of Glamorgan and Herefordshire. The estimated Catholic population is 144,000

There are 91 Catholic Schools in Wales educating 30,549 pupils and employing 1,635 teachers.


Monsignor Robert Reardon
Diocesan Communications Officer

t: 029 20 379494