Africa is a rich and diverse continent, the second biggest in the world, with 54 fully-recognised countries. Each country has its own economic, political and religious realities. The Catholic Bishops' Conference of England and Wales stands in solidarity with the Bishops of the Episcopal Conferences of Africa.

Our current geographical focus falls on four countries: The Democratic Republic of Congo, South and North Sudan, and Zimbabwe. These countries are dealing with internal challenges and problems often related to regional issues.

Missio's work in Africa

Missio is the Holy Father’s own charity with the unique remit to share the gift of faith with all and reach out to the poorest and most vulnerable communities regardless of background or belief. Missio builds the Church and sustains it in places, like Africa, where it is still young or too poor to be self-sufficient.

Symposium of Episcopal Conferences of Africa and Madagascar

The Symposium of Episcopal Conferences of Africa and Madagascar (SECAM) was born out of the Second Vatican Council after the African bishops resolved to build a continental structure in order to bring forth the African vision to the whole Church.