Iraq is one of the easternmost countries of the Arab world. It is bordered to the north by Turkey, to the east by Iran, to the west by Syria and Jordan, and to the south by Saudi Arabia and Kuwait. The capital and largest city is Baghdad. Christianity, including Catholic Chaldeans, Orthodox, Protestant, Assyrian Church of the East, account for approximately 1% of the population. The official languages of Iraq are Arabic and Kurdish.

Iraq Itinerary

Itinerary for Pope Francis's historic visit to Iraq.

Archbishop Semaan

Syriac Catholic Archbishop talks about his home city of Qaraqosh.

Archbishop Warda

Archbishop reflects on persecution, war and conflict in Iraq.

Cardinal Vincent Nichols

Cardinal Vincent Nichols visited Erbil in Iraqi Kurdistan in April 2015.

Patriarch Sako

Interview with Cardinal Louis Sako, Archbishop of Baghdad and Patriarch of Babylon of the Chaldeans.

1 2 3 4