Holydays of Obligation – England and Wales

CBCEW » Liturgy » » Holydays of Obligation – Engl...

With effect from the First Sunday of Advent 2017, two holydays of obligation are being reinstated. This decision was made by the Bishops of England and Wales, and has been confirmed by the Holy See.

The days are:

The Epiphany of the Lord — 6 January (transferred to the adjacent Sunday when it falls on Saturday or Monday)

The Ascension of the Lord — Thursday after Sixth Sunday of Easter


CBCEW Decree on Holydays

Vatican Decree on Holydays

Vatican Letter on Holydays


More information can be found on the Liturgy Office website.

11 Sept 2017
Why the Catholic Bishops have restored two Holy Days