Consultative Body

National Council for Lay Associations

25/11/2013 12:00 pm

Representitives from 23 lay apostolic member associations, representatives from nine liaison organisations, an Episcopal Advisor, a Chaplain, five officers and three lay advisors, form the council.

This Council convenes twice a year at Wistaston Hall, the OMI Retreat Centre in Crewe, over a two day conference during the first weekends of February and October.

Ideas, insights and experiences are shared on major issues of national concern, raised by the diverse network of organisations or by the Bishops' Conference. These conferences are followed by regional meetings in the north, midlands and south, so that a summary and recommendation can be compliled for the Bishops' Conference as one of its consultative bodies.

The Council fosters co-operation between member associations to strengthen their apostolate, is a member of the European Forum of National Laity Committees and has links with the Pontifical Council for Laity.


President: Mr John Smartt 
Address: c/o 14 Blenheim Avenue, Litherland, Liverpool. L21 8LW

Hon Secretary: Debbie Cottam
Address: 4 Oakcroft Close, Gloucester GL4 6NU

Vice President: Maureen Meatcher
Address: 45 Marks Road, Wokingham, Berks. RG41 1NR

Treasurer: Mr Ken Hargreaves
Address: 33 Northumberland Avenue, Blackpool. FY2 9SA